Tags

, , , , , ,

“Sister. She is your mirror, shining back at you with a world of possibilities. She is your witness, who sees you at your worst and best, and loves you anyway. She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling, even in the dark. She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink. Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child.”   ― Barbara Alpert      via Goodreads | Quotes About Sisters (70 quotes).

Anytime I meet new parents, I get the “wow three girls, where you trying for a boy?.” no, actually I was really wishing for another girl. When we first found out #3 was on the way I refused to find out the sex. I think part of me was afraid of disappointment; stupid as it may sound I really wanted another girl and having a boy was going to be tough in my mind. I was very embarrassed to admit my fear to anyone because it just sounded horrible, after all having boy or a girl is a blessing either way. Looking around at other families and their little boys, I would often find myself questioning if I could handle a boy in our girl mix. Boys to me always seemed more energetic, messy, rough and just more of a hand full.  I loved having my two girls and growing up in a family where girls formed the majority, I was very used to it. Finally one day while shopping for some baby clothes, I walked into the boys section. Well i thought this is different, how strange it felt. Looked around some more and then glanced over at the girl’s side; yes, this is it. I couldn’t help but smile, it was inviting and familiar and comfy. I then made my ultra sound appointment, I was convinced it was my new little girl.

Three girls, three sisters. I couldn’t be happier; they would always have each other. Having a sister is such a wonderful experience. Sisters are always best of friends, they may fight and argue but in the end they are there for each other. I could always count on my own sister to  help in anything especially with my girls. Although I know my brother would be more than happy to help with the girls, it just isn’t the same. Once my brother takes a wife it’s no longer just my brother and I; but having to ask of his wife before imposing. I know I can always drop in on my sister, it’s just the way we work as sisters. We have each others back. I take comfort in knowing that although I welcome my daughters to reach out to me for anything, they have my sister to confide in where they feel they can’t with me. My girls are very close in age (17 months) and watching them grow together in such a tight-knit bond is just so rewarding.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.  A sisters bond is magical; it’s forever.

